First day of school 2016!

Well everyone, the first day is in the books. I had a great and busy day. I really try to make my first day pretty interactive and fun since I know that students will maybe be sitting and listening to syllabi the rest of the day. (Side note: can we all stop doing that?!)

My first day centers around being awesome. I really want to set the tone for the year as positive and exciting, and I borrow from TLAP to make it happen.

First, we watch a Kid President video (the pep talk one). Then students make a symbol out of playdoh of what makes them awesome. They then do some sharing and write about it. Overall, it’s a great first day. Who doesn’t love Kid President and playing with playdoh?

Here’s a link to a quick video of my favorite student creation. They made a book (as a whole table!) to show how they like to read.

 

Author: karinhogen

I teach middle school language arts and run an Edtech company, DocentEDU, on the side. Every day is an adventure in my classroom with technology!

Leave a Reply

