Open House Ready with tech

I learned from the bottleneck at the front of my room last year that something needed to change in my open house set up for this school year. So, I worked this week to hopefully make open house as informative and free from bottlenecks of parents waiting to talk with me by my classroom door.

I have set up several informational stations in my classroom for people to walk around and visit. In order to save paper (who wants to print out stuff for every parent?) I made signs for each station and put them up in a very visible place. Each sign has a title of what is viewable at that station, as well as a short link. The vast majority of parents will have smart phones, and so they can just type in the link and can then see the information.

Here are my stations:

  • Welcome back/parent letter (this was also emailed out to all parents)
  • Our class Twitter account @HogensHeroes
  • The class “trailer” (like a movie trailer) I made
  • The syllabus which is in infographic form
  • A “get to know the teacher” presentation

Hopefully it will go well and we will avoid all the lines and waiting parents that happened last year!

Author: karinhogen

I teach middle school language arts and run an Edtech company, DocentEDU, on the side. Every day is an adventure in my classroom with technology!

Leave a Reply

