Manilla and Fredrikshov with Victoria

I had my last meeting of my study trip today with Victoria Oldstedt. She is a teacher at two schools, Manilla and and Fredrikshovs Slotts Skola. Both schools are charter schools in Stockholm;  Manilla is on a beautiful island in a building from the 1800s while Fredriskhov is in an old castle from the 1600s.

Here is a photo album you can look at to see more pictures than just these below. IMG_1962IMG_1952

I was so happy to meet Victoria! We had our classes write letters back and forth to each other this past year a few times, and it was so nice to put a face to the name.

I got a wonderful tour of both schools and got to meet many of the teachers and staff. A few highlights were:

-the teachers lounge at Manilla decorated in a style matching the age of the building including a lovely chandelier and period wallpaper

-seeing the classrooms with high ceilings in Fredrikshov, made out of rooms from a castle from over 400 years ago

-meeting another English teacher that I will get to work with this next year (our students will also write back and forth)

-meeting one of the classes that my students and I had pen pal letters with last year

Overall it was a lovely visit on a very rainy morning. Much of my time was spent planning and talking over our plans for our letter exchange for this next year, and I am so thankful to have had the opportunity to come and solidify our relationship.

Author: karinhogen

I teach middle school language arts and run an Edtech company, DocentEDU, on the side. Every day is an adventure in my classroom with technology!

Leave a Reply

