Glömstaskolan in Huddinge: introduction (post part 1)

I will be writing several posts for this visit I had on Monday. I have too many great pictures and want to explain too much for it to be in one post. This is my summary post.

This Monday I had the wonderful opportunity to meet with some teachers from Glömstaskolan and to tour their beautiful, completely new school!

Glömstaskolan is a school that is completely new. They open for their first day of school on the 17th. While I was there, construction workers were still walking around putting the final touches on everything. The school will eventually serve students from kindergarten up to 9th grade. However, they are currently starting with K-6, and then will add grades from there. This is a traditional configuration for Swedish schools, with these grades being grouped together and called grundskolan. There are then smaller groupings of grades inside grundskolan; for example, Högstadiet is 6th to 9th grade.

Glömstaskolan has potential to be an amazing school full of great learning and teaching. I look forward to implementing some of their ideas in my own classroom. I also already know that I will have one class there to be pen pals with one of my classes here. In the next few blog posts, I will cover several aspects of the school.

The whole photo album can be viewed here.

IMG_1818

Author: karinhogen

I teach middle school language arts and run an Edtech company, DocentEDU, on the side. Every day is an adventure in my classroom with technology!

Leave a Reply

