Study trip to Sweden: Making Connections, Technology, and Classroom Design

My blog for the next three weeks is going to be dedicated to my study trip to Sweden. I was lucky enough to receive a grant from the White Bear Lake Educational Foundation, a Glasrud Grant. Thanks to this generous grant, I am now in Sweden with the point to do three things: make international connections so that my students can work on shared projects with students in Sweden this school year (and the upcoming years), study how technology is used in the classroom here, and look at how classroom furniture and design is used to support pedagogy.

I have several meetings set up throughout many different areas of Sweden throughout the weeks. These include meetings with individual teachers, tours of schools, and a meeting with an education official. I really look forward to these meetings and learning from those that I meet. I hope to take all this knowledge home to positively impact teaching and learning in my classroom and larger educational community.

If you are interested in what I’m doing, please follow me here on the blog. I will be posting updates after every meeting. Currently, I’m in the Stockholm archipelago recuperating from my long flight (with a few hours’ stopover in Iceland where I got to go to Reykjavik) with my exchange students’ family. I will have my first meeting tomorrow.

Here are some pictures of the beautiful place that I currently find myself in as well as me in Iceland. (I tried to set up a quick meeting while there; however, it was a national holiday and no one was available.)

Here is me drinking coffee and reading like a good English teacher should. In the background you can see some traditional Swedish summer cabins with white and red paint and stone tile roofs. Co1nR6TXYAEUnAr

Here is me in downtown Reykjavik. This is the harbor with volcanic rock and mountains behind me. Cor9RZqW8AAcRy9

Here I am in the Värmdö area of the archipelago outside of Stockholm. Cox20FTWgAEWPyr

Author: karinhogen

I teach middle school language arts and run an Edtech company, DocentEDU, on the side. Every day is an adventure in my classroom with technology!

Leave a Reply

